CCS: Clay Community SchoolsA Standard of Excellence

Clay Community Schools



Clay Community Schools provides an educational program for the students in ten townships in Clay County and one township in Parke County, including the communities of Bowling Green, Brazil, Carbon, Center Point, Clay City, Cory, Harmony, Knightsville, Lena, Mansfield, Poland and Staunton.


Clay Community Schools is composed of seven elementary schools, grades K-5; Clay City Elementary School, East Side Elementary School, Forest Park Elementary School, Jackson Township Elementary School, Meridian Elementary School, Staunton Elementary School, Van Buren Elementary School: one middle school, grades 6-8; North Clay Middle School: one junior/senior high, grades 7-12; Clay City Junior/Senior High School: one senior high, grades 9-12; Northview High School and one alternative school, Cumberland Academy. Our corporation strives to reach those not in school through our LEAAP (Linking Education to Adults, Adolescents & Preschoolers) program.


The school corporation is directed by seven members on the Board of School Trustees. There are four district positions and three at-large positions.


Clay Community Schools exists to meet the individual educational needs of the children of the community by providing a program to develop the skills necessary to earn a living and enjoy a high quality of life. Clay Community Schools shall develop and maintain a standard of excellence in its educational program and maintain a high level of expectation for each student's performance.

©2008 Clay Community Schools